This story first appeared in Advisorator, Jared’s weekly tech recommendation publication. Sign up to get extra insights each Tuesday.
On a current night, I had a gentle panic after attempting to name my spouse and repeatedly getting the identical error: “Your name couldn’t be accomplished as dialed.”
She was supposed to come back dwelling late that evening from an out-of-town journey with some previous associates, however I hadn’t heard from her that day and couldn’t recall the timing of her flight. If her telephone was merely in Airplane mode, my calls ought to have gone to voicemail as a substitute of failing to attach outright.
Ultimately, it was only a random community connectivity glitch, solved by a reboot after my spouse acquired off the airplane. However as a member of the in-law household group chat was fast to level out, I might have averted this temporary feeling of unease by merely monitoring my spouse’s location via her telephone.
After all, I’m nicely conscious of the location-sharing options that smartphones provide. Apple and Google each make it simple to let family and friends monitor your whereabouts, which in flip provides these corporations worthwhile location knowledge (and, in Apple’s case, reinforces the social pressure to have an iPhone).
My spouse and I’ve simply by no means needed to trace one another this manner, having agreed that it’d be creepy for both of us to take action. This weekend’s journey blip didn’t change our minds.
A part of the issue is that to allow these options, your telephone’s mapping app should examine your location always, not simply whenever you’re trying up a enterprise or getting instructions. However the greater concern is just about private privateness, and having the ability to go someplace with out it changing into anybody else’s enterprise—even individuals you realize and belief.
I can see the opposite facet of the argument: You’d remorse not having this characteristic when you really want it, and it’s not like you could have something to cover.
True, however that’s all the time the type of argument tech corporations use when a product erodes private freedoms. In consequence, you’ll be able to not stroll down the road with out being monitored through neighbors’ doorbell cams, and fairly quickly you could be recorded by anybody wearing a pair of sunglasses. In the meantime, the whole ad-supported tech financial system revolves round being so invasive that it feels like your phone is recording you, which it seems individuals discover unsettling even after they’ve carried out nothing incorrect.
Whereas I can’t management these bigger dynamics, I can at the least second-guess whether or not my very own fears justify one more layer of surveillance. No judgment for those who come to a unique conclusion, however I’m not able to make that leap even after some momentary nervousness. (Ask me once more about this in couple years, although, when my children have smartphones and are sufficiently old to get into precise bother.)
The best way to see who’s monitoring your location
Location sharing between iPhone customers:
To seek out out who can see your location, open Apple’s Discover My app and head to the Individuals tab. Flip off location sharing by tapping an individual’s identify and deciding on “Cease sharing.”
If you happen to do need to share your whereabouts with one other iPhone consumer, there are a number of locations to take action:
- Within the Discover My app: Underneath the Individuals tab, faucet the + button, choose “Share My Location,” then choose a number of contacts.
- By way of iMessage: Faucet + in any chat window, choose “Location,” and select how lengthy to share.
- Within the Household Sharing menu: You’ll discover this underneath Settings > Household > Location Sharing. Choosing an individual right here may even share the placement of all of your Discover My-compatible units, together with Apple Watches, iPads, and AirPods.
- In Apple Maps: Swipe down and choose “Share Location.” This solely shares your present location and doesn’t mechanically replace.

Notice that when you’ve shared a location with somebody, they will set up notifications for every time you allow an space, arrive at a spot, or fail to point out up at a location throughout a set schedule. Your approval is barely wanted for recurring alerts, not one-time notifications.
As an alternative choice to sharing your location indefinitely, contemplate sharing for only one hour or the remainder of the day. You possibly can select this feature within the Discover My app or iMessage, however not the Household Sharing menu.
Location sharing for Android and Google Maps customers:

Google has its personal location sharing system that works throughout Android and iOS. If in case you have an iPhone and aren’t sharing via Apple’s Discover My app, you should still be sharing via Google Maps as a substitute.
Right here’s how one can see who can monitor you through Google Maps:
- Within the Google Maps app (iOS and Android): Faucet in your profile image, then choose “Location Sharing.” (These you’ve shared with within the Discover Hub app may even seem right here.)
- Within the Discover Hub app (Android solely): Simply look underneath the Individuals tab. (These you’ve shared with in Google Maps may even seem right here.)

If you happen to do need to share your location with others, you are able to do so by hitting the + button within the menus above. Each help you share for one hour, the remainder of the day, or indefinitely, whereas the Discover Hub app has an extra choice to share for a restricted variety of hours.
As with Apple’s system, anybody who can see your whereabouts can even set up alerts for when you leave or arrive at a location. You’ll get an e-mail when this occurs, however the one strategy to disable it’s to cease sharing fully.
This story first appeared in Advisorator, Jared’s weekly tech recommendation publication. Sign up to get extra insights each Tuesday.
